I had two to three days to rest and recuperate in the hotel after the plague.  It took some time to be able to eat like a normal human being again but in time I was fighting fit -well as fit as I would usually be.  The bike I managed to sell, well practically give away to a young lad who worked at the hotel.  It was a piece of junk really, it had so much needing  doing to it, and was going to end up costing him around 200 bucks anyway.  No matter it was out of my hands and one less thing to worry about.

I had to make it to Bali I thought, to see my good old friend Nick whom I had not seen in many years, he now had has a wife and two children whom I were looking forward to meeting.  I could not fly from Vientiane and so the closest place would be Bangkok.  The only thing with Bangkok was at the time the Anti government (red shirt) protests had been escalating to a full-blown war on the streets.  The plan was to get in stay a couple of nights and then get the hell out of there.

I booked transport to the Laos/Thailand border just 30 K down the road and from there I would catch two trains to Bangkok central.  The station was two blocks away from one of the appointed danger zones.

The next day I was ready to go, and after a good meal and what seemed like the longest good-bye ever with Mia I was on my way.

Finally happy I was leaving Vientiane yet at the same time a little sad.  I had become accustomed to the place and had made a lot of new friends, some I may see again, some I don’t know.  One day I may return and surprise people in Samlo.

